The McNairy Central Sports Hall of Fame committee has announced the 2016 Hall of Fame class. Class members being inducted are Tyrone Luster, Rashan Pollard, Belinda Brown Shelton, Jimmy "Lefty" Skelton, and Jamie Wolfe.  The new class will be inducted at the annual banquet on Saturday, Nov. 5 in the MCHS Commons. The banquet is presented by Modern Woodmen.  This will be the fourth year for the banquet to be held and the interest has grown each year. Tickets will cost $15 in advance and will be $20 at the door. You can get tickets from any committee member: Mike Smith, Danny Hendrix, Dr. Martha Glover, Richie Bodiford, Ricky Whitaker, Chris Whitten, and Glenn Davis. Tickets may also be purchased with credit card at this link

Previously inducted members of the Sports Hall of Fame are Neal Walker, Marilyn Gilchrist Kildow, the late Don Whitaker, Kristi Lott Davidson, John Finlayson, Mike Walker, the late James Horton, the late Fred Wyke, Bill Webb, Chad Hebert, Wilburn Gene Ashe, Sherry Smith, and Ross Shelton.

If you would like more information about McNairy Central’s Sports Hall of Fame, check their Facebook page.

1988 graduate Jamie Wolfe will be inducted on November 5 into the Class of 2016. Wolfe was a two-time district champion in golf and was region runner-up in 1987. He was the first MCHS golfer to play in the state tournament. Wolfe was all-district and all-region in baseball. He holds school records in baseball for best winning percentage for a season (9-1) and for a career (20-2. Wolfe played college golf for MTSU and was twice named to an all-tournament team playing for the Raiders.

1992 graduate Rashan Pollard was an offensive machine for the Bobcats in the low post. He scorched the Adamsville Cardinals for 44 points to set the school’s all-time record for most points scored in a basketball game. He finished his career with 1,437-points, good for fourth on the school’s all-time list. Pollard twice was named All West Tennessee, made the all-region team twice, and was a three-time all-district player. Pollard will be inducted into the Class of 2016 on November 5.

Jimmy "Lefty" Skelton led the Lady Bobcats to a state runner-up finish in 1974, coached the girls to a district championship, three region titles, and to four state tournaments. He is the only coach to be the head boys and girls basketball coach at MCHS.  Skelton wll be inducted into the Class of 2016 on November 5.

1975 graduate Belinda Brown Shelton will be inducted into the 2016 Class on November 5. Shelton was a 4-year starter for the Lady Bobcats basketball team. She helped lead her teams to a record of 105-12 losses which included one district title, three region championships, four sub-state appearances, three state tournament appearances. In which one was a State Runner Up Finish. She is the 4th ALL Time leading scorer with 1,574 points and was named to all-district, all-region, and all-state teams. Shelton attended Northeast Jr. College and was twice named to the all-state teams for junior college players.

1997 graduate Tyrone Luster will be inducted into the 2016 Class on November 5. Luster holds several school records in football for rushing yards and scoring. He twice ran for over 1,000-yards, holds the school record for yard rushing in a game with 324-yards against Kossuth, holds school record for rushing yards in season 1,863, career record for rushing yards (4,870), Touchdowns (68), and scoring (418), Region 3A Player of the Year in 1997, played in the East-West Shrine Game.