The McNairy Central High School Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 2013. The purpose of the McNairy Central High School Sports Hall of Fame is to recognize the outstanding contributions in athletics among McNairy Central High School (MCHS) athletes, coaches, school officials and/or contributors. Committee members are Chairman Mike Smith, Jeff York, Danny Hendrix, Dr. Martha Glover, Glenn Davis, Ricky Whitaker, Richie Bodiford, Chris Whitten, and Secretary Lisa Forsythe. The committee is proud to announce the inductees for the Class of 2015. Being inducted are:

Wilburn Gene Ashe

(He will be the first contributor elected to the Hall of Fame.
He spent 54 years as a basketball scorekeeper, 42 of those at MCHS
He taught for 17 years at Selmer High and McNairy Central
He served for 15 years as county judge (county mayor).
He worked at Regions Bank for 14 years.
He has served for more than 45 years in county government.

Sherry Smith, Class of 1979
School's second all-time leading scorer - 1,763
Led two teams to state tournaments and 3 to sub-state
Was three-time all-district and all-region
Was all-state
Twice All West Tennessee
1ST MCHS player to ever play in a NCAA D1 National Tournament

She played college basketball at MTSU

Kenny Walker, Class of 1987
Was twice all-district and all-region player
Led his team to a district championship and the sub-state
Coach James Horton considered him the best all-around player he ever coached
One of best dunkers in school history
Died in a wreck prior to his senior season

Chad Hebert, Class of 1988
Was a 3-time all-district
Was a 2-time region semifinalist
Was undefeated as #1 singles position for three years straight, with only loss each year at the regional finals
Ranked in Top 10 statewide in USTA his senior year
Led Lambuth University to first Conference Championship in his first year as coach, and obtained NAIA National Ranking in the second year.
2000 USPTA National College Coach of the Year
2005 Louisiana Pro of the Year
He is the Head Tennis Pro at The City Club of Lafayette, in Lafayette, LA

Ross Shelton, Class of 1999
TSWA West TN Athlete of the Year
Jackson Sun Athlete of the Year
All-District in 3 sports at MC
Only MC player to be All West TN at two positions on offense - WR & QB
Jackson Sun All West Tennessee in Basketball
Finalist in Tennessee for Wendy's High School Heisman

The 2015 Induction banquet will be held on Saturday, October 24 at 6:00 pm in the MCHS Commons. Tickets are $15 and may be purchased from any committee member, or online by clicking the link below.